|BUNESTI Bunesti, Crit, Mesendorf, Roades, Viscri|
The commune of Homorod administratively consists of five settlements, having a total population of 2,500 inhabitants.
The surface of the commune is of 14,190 ha, of which 338 ha represent the inhabited area of the five settlements.
Activities specific to the area: rural tourism, agriculture, zoo culture, forest exploitation.
Bunesti - first documentary attestation in 1337
Crit - first documentary attestation in 1322
The old name of Kreuz (cross) comes from the local tradition that provisioned implanting on a hill a large cross that could be seen by three of the neighboring communes - Crit, Cloasterf and Mesendorf. It is around this cross that the first houses were built and grouped and a church in stone was edified, being dedicated to the Holy Cross.
From two documents dated 1270 and 1272, we learn that, in conformity with the laws of the Szekelies (Transylvanian Hungarians), King Steven of Hungary confers to Laurentius. Son of Hylyees and Laurentius's son who bore the same name, the possession of the fields surrounding Szederges (Moreni), with its St. Mary church and the surroundings of Tileag (alias Odorhei), namely Szekeres and its Holy Cross stone church.
The Szekelies are recommended to welcome Laurentius and his successors in their community, the two villages mentioned above no longer belonging to the jurisdiction and authority of the Voivode of Transylvania. Therefore, in the beginning, Crit was a nobiliary property.
In 1332, the villages of Crit, Cloasterf and Mesendorf were part of the domain of the Carta Abbey. When the abbey disolved, on February 27, 1474 King Matei Corvin gave all the properties of the abbey to Saint Mary's Church in Sibiu. Hence, Crit is placed under the authority and administration of the Magistrate of Sibiu.
Between 1496 and 1497, the three villages are involved in a dispute with the Magistrate of Sibiu for the tenth that was due to the parsons of these communes. The Bishop of Alba Iulia decided that these parsons should get the tenth and that he was to get the tax owed to the bishopric whereas the Magistrate of Sibiu should get the fiscal taxes.
Around 1500, Crit is mentioned among the communes of the See of Sighisoara. Of the old church of the Holy Cross, demolished in 1810, no graphic document was kept; hence we are not informed on its appearance.
Mesendorf - first documentary attestation in1289
Mesendorf is a settlement in the Brasov County and it belongs to the commune Bunesti, 7 km away from Crit, on the national cause way 1, between Brasov and Sighisoara. The settlement is attested for the first time in the documents of the 14th century. A document issued on January 29, 1322 by the King of Hungary Charles I Robert of Anjou(1308-1342) informs that the Cistercian monastery of Cārta serviced ten settlements among which the village of Mesendorf.
Roades - first documentary attestation in 1356
Viscri - first documentary attestation in 1400
The village of Viscri was for many years forgotten but now it reveals a pure rustic atmosphere which seems unattained by the modernism of nowadays. It is as if one traveled back in time to see the households and their quondam customs, traditions and crafts.
In this village, seemingly situated at the end of the world, we find Transylvania's "little secret", that is, the fortress of Viscri, the oldest fortified church in Transylvania. In Viscri, there also lasts, well preserved, one of the most picturesque and monumental, although not large, rustic Transylvanian Saxon fortresses. Between its walls, it shelters one of the very few Roman main-body churches of the 13th century.
The magic of the Transylvanian Saxon scenery has not faded at all in time, even though many of the Transylvanian Saxons went to live abroad or died, there are still others that remained to carry forward the traditions and costumes they inherited from their ancestors.
Situated between the two cause ways that tie Rupea to Sighisoara and Medias, Viscri could be reached up until ten years ago only by one's own locomotion means. The village of Viscri is in Brasov County, about 10 km away from the commune Bunesti, in the middle of an overwhelmingly splendid landscape, particularly in the summertime. Due to its secluded position, here was kept the most archaic costume of the 17th - 19th century.
The community of Transylvanian Saxons, whose predecessors settled here more than 800 years ago, tried to maintain the traditional lifestyle and keep the traditionally blue houses that add distinction to the appearance of the already picturesque landscape and also to the white fortified church that watches over the village since 1230. Besides visiting the old houses, the church and the small cafe where handicraft articles are sold, the tourists can enjoy the authentic Transylvanian Saxon hospitality, the traditional food and the most genuine rustic experience.